Author Topic: Will Blu-Ray catch on?  (Read 3636 times)

Offline VR_Rock

• Sniper Assassin
So, I bought a Bluray player for my dads xmas, however thinking about the econemy, and the fact think the original DVD is still the more populer choice (and the cheaper choice) will it catch on? Have I just bought somthing that's going to be obsolete in a year or two (like the HDdvd releases)?

Offline aerosmith513

• Sniper Assassin
  • Not changing this till Guns N' Roses go on tour
I think it will catch on.  I am not an expert on this sort of stuff but it basically got rid of hd dvds. Now its all blu-ray I see.

Offline AxlReznor

• Sniper Assassin
  • Toasted Marshmallow
I thought it already had caught on, myself.

Offline Just_Me

• Staff
HD-DVD is definately gone. They've stopped making the players and the DVD's - it's all going to be Blu-ray from now on.

As for whether it'll beat out DVD I suspect there won't be much choice. Just like when DVD took over from VHS and CD's took over from vinyl new movies will gradually stop being released on DVD at all so if people want to buy them they'll have to get Blu-ray.

Offline maxxoccupancy

• Sniper Assassin
  • VF::fav::band
    • New Hampshire Liberty Alliance
I remember that DVD's and CD's took a LOOOOONG time to catch on.  People now know that, if you run out and buy the latest thing too early, you'll pay too much and get too little use out of it.  It's almost always better to wait for the cheaper and better 2nd and 3rd generation products.

I've got  a 3rd generation plasma screen tv, and it kicks ass compared to anything else on the market.  Lower power consumption, higher contrast, higher resolution, and 30 years before burn in.

Always with art, the first attempt is the most raw, the most vivid.  With technology, third time's the charm.

Offline Philth

• Sniper Assassin
  • Iron Ego
    • PhilthTube